Marijuana Possession in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, a possession of marijuana charge is considered a misdemeanor and carries up to one year in jail and fines up to $500. You can also be ordered to serve up to 100 hours of community service and have to attend drug education classes.

If you are arrested and have any prior convictions, your fines may be considerably more severe. You may be sentenced to serve up to two years in jail and might have to complete 200 hours of community service as well as drug treatment and education programs.

Finally, if you are convicted of drug possession in an amount greater than 1 kilogram of marijuana, you will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years in prison and fines reaching $500,000.

If you have been arrested and charged with possession of marijuana in Rhode Island, it is imperative that you contact a Rhode Island criminal defense attorney immediately.  With an experienced criminal defense lawyer defending your case, you will have the best chance of avoiding the most severe consequences of a drug charge conviction.

Attorney John R. Grasso is a former police officer and experienced Rhode Island lawyer who has a proven track record of successfully defending clients against various state and federal drug charges.  As your criminal defense attorney, John R. Grasso will vigorously advocate on your behalf and provide you with the experienced and dedicated legal counsel you need to avoid a conviction of your state or federal marijuana possession charge.